About Luxor Valley of the Kings

Paying the admission fee lets you explore three tombs of your choice. Many of the tombs, though, are closed for renovation and ongoing excavation. There are over 64 known tombs, given KV (King’s Valley) numbers.

To safeguard their treasures and the sacredness of their tombs from thieves, the Pharaohs employed elaborate burial customs and tomb designs, such as dead ends, fake sarcophagi, hidden doorways, and deep shafts. An isolated canyon was identified as ideal for the royal necropolis, the Valley of the Kings. The most well known tombs are the Tomb of Ramses IV (KV2), Tomb of Tutankhamun (KV62), Tomb of Thutmose III (KV34), Tomb of Horemheb (KV57), Tomb of Merneptah (KV8), and Tomb of Ramesses VI (KV9).

How to get there
By ferry (6am-4pm). Dock is in front of Luxor Temple. You can either explore on foot or by bicycle. Donkey rides are also popular. Join a guided tour or book a tour with noted guides and Egyptologists.

Opening hours

Lowest Tour Prices
Reschedule Anytime
Instant Confirmation
24/7 Customer Support